Car Insurance in New Hampshire
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in New Hampshire
Minimum Liability Limits in NH: 25/50/25 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums. Note: In addition, policyholders must also carry at least $2,000 for medical payments.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in NH [ 4]
Uninsured motorist coverage Financial responsibility only (insurance not compulsory) Car Insurance Verification Laws in New Hampshire
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in NH [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
New Hampshire Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in NH
New Hampshire had the 29th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in NH ranked 28th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, NH had the 26th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in NH
New Hampshire ranked 41st in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 896,848.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in NH
The uninsured motorist rate in NH ranked 33rd in the nation in 2009.
New Hampshire Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? No
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
New Hampshire Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in NH
The state of New Hampshire is the only state that has no safety belt law in place at all.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 6 years and younger who are less than 57 inches (effective 01/01/14).
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in NH
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in NH
Renewal cycle: 5 years
New Hampshire Auto & Driver Facts
New Hampshire Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in NH
Rural interstates: 65 mph (70 mph on specified segments of road)
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 55 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in NH
New Hampshire cities collectively ranked 41st in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
New Hampshire Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in NH [ 10]
Total Drivers: 1,056,889
NH has the 40th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in NH [ 5]
New Hampshire has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
New Hampshire Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in NH [ 8]
Registered Cars: 594,931
Registered Trucks: 601,080
Registered Motorcycles: 79,267
Total Registrations: 1,278,484
Rank: New Hampshire ranked 40th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about New Hampshire
About New Hampshire
New Hampshire has a population of approximately 1,316,470, which ranks 42nd in the U.S. among all states.
More about New Hampshire auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in NH, or for additional resources regarding
New Hampshire car insurance, visit the New Hampshire Department of Insurance.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration