Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Montana
Minimum Liability Limits in MT: 25/50/10 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Montana
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in MT [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Montana
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in MT [ 4]
Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Montana Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Montana Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in MT
Montana had the 36th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in MT ranked 36th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, MT had the 32nd highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in MT
Montana ranked 43rd in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 809,958.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in MT
The uninsured motorist rate in MT ranked 30th in the nation in 2009.
Montana Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? No
Young drivers cell phone ban? No
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Montana Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in MT
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1987 and apply to drivers/passengers 6+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 5 years and and younger and less than 60 pounds.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in MT
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in MT
Renewal cycle: 8 years, 4 years if by mail, or on 75th birthday, whichever occurs first7
Montana Auto & Driver Facts
Montana Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in MT
Rural interstates: 75 mph (Trucks: 65 mph)
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 70 mph (Night: 65 mph)
Motor Fuel Consumption in MT
Montana cities collectively ranked 42nd in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Montana Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in MT [ 10]
Total Drivers: 752,483
MT has the 43rd most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in MT [ 5]
Montana has a minimum driving age of 14 years, 6 months.
Montana Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in MT [ 8]
Registered Cars: 435,575
Registered Trucks: 731,783
Registered Motorcycles: 47,011
Total Registrations: 1,219,158
Rank: Montana ranked 41st in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Montana
Montana has a population of approximately 989,415, which ranks 44th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Montana auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in MT, or for additional resources regarding
Montana car insurance, visit the Montana Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under primary laws, an officer can ticket a driver for the offense (such as texting) without another traffic violation occurring.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration