Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Arizona
Minimum Liability Limits in AZ: 15/30/10 [ 4]
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for one individual injured in an accident
30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Arizona
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in AZ [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Arizona
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in AZ [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest.
Arizona Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Arizona Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in AZ
Arizona had the 18th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in AZ ranked 15th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, AZ had the 14th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in AZ
Arizona ranked 18th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 4,165,847.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in AZ
The uninsured motorist rate in AZ ranked 28th in the nation in 2009.
Arizona Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? No
Young drivers cell phone ban? No
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school bus drivers. [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect..
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Arizona Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in AZ
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1991 and apply to drivers/passengers 8+ years in front seat; 8 through 15 in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 4 years and younger; children 5 through 7 who are 57 inches or shorter.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in AZ
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in AZ
Renewal cycle: until age 65
Arizona Auto & Driver Facts
Arizona Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in AZ
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph (Trucks: 65 mph)
Motor Fuel Consumption in AZ
Arizona cities collectively ranked 16th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Arizona Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in AZ [ 10]
Total Drivers: 4,592,398
AZ has the 16th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in AZ [ 5]
Arizona has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
Arizona Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in AZ [ 8]
Registered Cars: 2,363,015
Registered Trucks: 2,555,552
Registered Motorcycles: 178,928
Total Registrations: 5,109,254
Rank: Arizona ranked 19th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Arizona
Arizona has a population of approximately 6,392,017, which ranks 15th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Arizona auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in AZ, or for additional resources regarding
Arizona car insurance, visit the Arizona Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under primary laws, an officer can ticket a driver for the offense (such as texting) without another traffic violation occurring.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration