Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Nevada
Minimum Liability Limits in NV: 15/30/10 [ 4]
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for one individual injured in an accident
30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Nevada
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in NV [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Nevada
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in NV [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Nevada Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Nevada Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in NV
Nevada had the 11th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in NV ranked 9th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, NV had the 8th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in NV
Nevada ranked 35th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 1,791,986.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in NV
The uninsured motorist rate in NV ranked 24th in the nation in 2009.
Nevada Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? No
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Nevada Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in NV
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1987 and apply to drivers/passengers 6+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 5 years and younger and 60 pounds or less.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in NV
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in NV
Renewal cycle: 4 years
Nevada Auto & Driver Facts
Nevada Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in NV
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 70 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in NV
Nevada cities collectively ranked 36th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Nevada Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in NV [ 10]
Total Drivers: 1,700,829
NV has the 35th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in NV [ 5]
Nevada has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
Nevada Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in NV [ 8]
Registered Cars: 1,079,145
Registered Trucks: 1,000,945
Registered Motorcycles: 68,976
Total Registrations: 2,152,407
Rank: Nevada ranked 33rd in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Nevada
Nevada has a population of approximately 2,700,551, which ranks 35th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Nevada auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in NV, or for additional resources regarding
Nevada car insurance, visit the Nevada Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under secondary laws, a police officer must have some other reason to stop a vehicle before citing a driver for that offense.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration