Car Insurance in California
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in California
Minimum Liability Limits in CA: 15/30/5 [ 4]
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for one individual injured in an accident
30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
5 Required coverage up to $5,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums. Note: CA has a California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan for low-income drivers with low-cost policy limits of $10,000/$20,000/$3,000.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in California
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in CA [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in California
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in CA [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
California Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
California Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in CA
California had the 21st highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in CA ranked 20th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, CA had the 20th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in CA
California ranked 1st in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 24,221,799.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in CA
The uninsured motorist rate in CA ranked 17th in the nation in 2009.
California Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers, although drivers older than 18 may dictate, send or listen to text-based messages if they're using voice-activated, hands-free devices. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school and transit bus drivers. [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect for hand-held and texting laws. Secondary enforcement in effect for all cell phone use by drivers 17 and younger.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
California Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in CA
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1986 and apply to drivers/passengers 16+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 7 years and younger who are less than 57 inches.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in CA
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in CA
Renewal cycle: 5 years
California Auto & Driver Facts
California Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in CA
Rural interstates: 70 mph (Trucks: 55 mph)
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph (Trucks: 55 mph)
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph (Trucks: 55 mph)
Motor Fuel Consumption in CA
California cities collectively ranked 1st in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
California Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in CA [ 10]
Total Drivers: 23,856,600
CA has the 1st most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in CA [ 5]
California has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
California Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in CA [ 8]
Registered Cars: 14,549,841
Registered Trucks: 13,771,330
Registered Motorcycles: 818,650
Total Registrations: 29,176,697
Rank: California ranked 1st in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about California
California has a population of approximately 37,253,956, which ranks 1st in the U.S. among all states.
More about California auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in CA, or for additional resources regarding
California car insurance, visit the California Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under secondary laws, a police officer must have some other reason to stop a vehicle before citing a driver for that offense.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration