Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Wyoming
Minimum Liability Limits in WY: 25/50/20 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
20 Required coverage up to $20,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Wyoming
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in WY [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Wyoming
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in WY [ 4]
Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Wyoming Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Wyoming Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in WY
Wyoming had the 42nd highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in WY ranked 40th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, WY had the 40th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in WY
Wyoming ranked 48th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 523,597.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in WY
The uninsured motorist rate in WY ranked 39th in the nation in 2009.
Wyoming Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Wyoming Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in WY
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1989 and apply to drivers/passengers 9+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 8 years and younger.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in WY
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in WY
Renewal cycle: 4 years
Wyoming Auto & Driver Facts
Wyoming Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in WY
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 60 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in WY
Wyoming cities collectively ranked 44th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Wyoming Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in WY [ 10]
Total Drivers: 421,928
WY has the 50th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in WY [ 5]
Wyoming has a minimum driving age of 15 years.
Wyoming Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in WY [ 8]
Registered Cars: 241,980
Registered Trucks: 522,404
Registered Motorcycles: 30,378
Total Registrations: 798,296
Rank: Wyoming ranked 47th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Wyoming
Wyoming has a population of approximately 563,626, which ranks 51st in the U.S. among all states.
More about Wyoming auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in WY, or for additional resources regarding
Wyoming car insurance, visit the Wyoming Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Driving while talking on a hand-held cell phone is currently prohibited in in 11 states and the District of Columbia.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration