Car Insurance in Virginia
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Virginia
Minimum Liability Limits in VA: 25/50/20 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
20 Required coverage up to $20,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Virginia
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in VA [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Uninsured motorist coverage Underinsured motorist coverage Note: It is compulsory to buy physical damage insurance or pay an Uninsured Motorists Vehicle (UMV) fee to the state Department of Motor Vehicles. Car Insurance Verification Laws in Virginia
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in VA [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest. Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Virginia Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Virginia Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in VA
Virginia had the 34th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in VA ranked 34th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, VA had the 34th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in VA
Virginia ranked 11th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 6,133,687.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in VA
The uninsured motorist rate in VA ranked 36th in the nation in 2009.
Virginia Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school bus drivers. [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect for texting. Secondary enforcement in effect for drivers younger than 18.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Virginia Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in VA
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1988 and apply to drivers/passengers 18+ years in front seat.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 7 years and younger unless they have a physician exemption19.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in VA
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in VA
Renewal cycle: 8 years
Virginia Auto & Driver Facts
Virginia Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in VA
Rural interstates: 70 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 70 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 55 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in VA
Virginia cities collectively ranked 12th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Virginia Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in VA [ 10]
Total Drivers: 5,467,045
VA has the 13th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in VA [ 5]
Virginia has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
Virginia Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in VA [ 8]
Registered Cars: 3,827,026
Registered Trucks: 2,954,336
Registered Motorcycles: 195,829
Total Registrations: 6,998,385
Rank: Virginia ranked 11th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Virginia
Virginia has a population of approximately 8,001,024, which ranks 12th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Virginia auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in VA, or for additional resources regarding
Virginia car insurance, visit the Virginia Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Penalties for driving without required insurance coverage vary widely by location. Fines can reach into the thousands of dollars.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration