Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Utah
Minimum Liability Limits in UT: 25/65/15 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
65 Required coverage up to $65,000 for all persons injured in an accident
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums. Note: Instead of policy limits, policyholders can satisfy the requirement with a combined single limit policy.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Utah
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in UT [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Personal injury protection coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Utah
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in UT [ 4]
Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Utah Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Utah Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in UT
Utah had the 28th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in UT ranked 29th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, UT had the 29th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in UT
Utah ranked 34th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 1,827,781.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in UT
The uninsured motorist rate in UT ranked 44th in the nation in 2009.
Utah Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school bus drivers (hand-held ban). [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Utah Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in UT
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1986 and apply to drivers/passengers 16+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 7 years and younger and shorter than 57 inches.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in UT
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in UT
Renewal cycle: 5 years
Utah Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in UT
Rural interstates: 75 mph (Specified segments of road may have posted limits that exceed 75 mph)
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in UT
Utah cities collectively ranked 34th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Utah Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in UT [ 10]
Total Drivers: 1,747,487
UT has the 34th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in UT [ 5]
Utah has a minimum driving age of 15 years.
Utah Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in UT [ 8]
Registered Cars: 857,948
Registered Trucks: 960,618
Registered Motorcycles: 59,430
Total Registrations: 1,883,410
Rank: Utah ranked 36th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Utah
Utah has a population of approximately 2,763,885, which ranks 34th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Utah auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in UT, or for additional resources regarding
Utah car insurance, visit the Utah Department of Insurance.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration