Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Kansas
Minimum Liability Limits in KS: 25/50/10 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Kansas
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in KS [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Uninsured motorist coverage Personal injury protection coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Kansas
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in KS [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request.
Kansas Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Kansas Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in KS
Kansas had the 40th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in KS ranked 41st in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, KS had the 41st highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in KS
Kansas ranked 31st in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 2,270,365.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in KS
The uninsured motorist rate in KS ranked 40th in the nation in 2009.
Kansas Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to learner's permit and intermediate license holders. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Kansas Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in KS
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1986 and apply to drivers/passengers 14+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 3 years and younger must be in a child restraint; 4 - 7 years less than 80 pounds and 4 - 7 less than 57 inches tall must be in a child restraint or booster seat.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in KS
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in KS
Renewal cycle: 6 years
Kansas Auto & Driver Facts
Kansas Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in KS
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in KS
Kansas cities collectively ranked 32nd in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Kansas Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in KS [ 10]
Total Drivers: 2,025,581
KS has the 31st most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in KS [ 5]
Kansas has a minimum driving age of 14 years.
Kansas Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in KS [ 8]
Registered Cars: 1,141,601
Registered Trucks: 1,217,921
Registered Motorcycles: 81,361
Total Registrations: 2,445,966
Rank: Kansas ranked 32nd in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Kansas
Kansas has a population of approximately 2,853,118, which ranks 33rd in the U.S. among all states.
More about Kansas auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in KS, or for additional resources regarding
Kansas car insurance, visit the Kansas Department of Insurance.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration