Car Insurance in Nebraska
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Nebraska
Minimum Liability Limits in NE: 25/50/25 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Nebraska
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in NE [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Uninsured motorist coverage Underinsured motorist coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Nebraska
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in NE [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Nebraska Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Nebraska Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in NE
Nebraska had the 46th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in NE ranked 47th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, NE had the 48th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in NE
Nebraska ranked 37th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 1,492,531.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in NE
The uninsured motorist rate in NE ranked 46th in the nation in 2009.
Nebraska Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? No
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? No
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Secondary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Nebraska Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in NE
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1993 and apply to drivers/passengers 18+ years in front seat.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 5 years and younger.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in NE
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in NE
Renewal cycle: 5 years
Nebraska Auto & Driver Facts
Nebraska Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in NE
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 60 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in NE
Nebraska cities collectively ranked 37th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Nebraska Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in NE [ 10]
Total Drivers: 1,356,377
NE has the 37th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in NE [ 5]
Nebraska has a minimum driving age of 15 years.
Nebraska Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in NE [ 8]
Registered Cars: 766,395
Registered Trucks: 1,065,473
Registered Motorcycles: 51,376
Total Registrations: 1,886,956
Rank: Nebraska ranked 35th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Nebraska
Nebraska has a population of approximately 1,826,341, which ranks 37th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Nebraska auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in NE, or for additional resources regarding
Nebraska car insurance, visit the Nebraska Department of Insurance.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration