Car Insurance LocalCar Insurance Local
Arkansas Car Insurance Resources

Arkansas Car Insurance

Car Insurance Rates in AR

^ From 2006 to 2010, Arkansas cities had the 36th highest auto insurance rates in the nation. [2]

Car Insurance in AR by City

Select a city for local information:

Go

Cars Insured in AR

^ Arkansas ranked 32nd of all U.S. states in total auto insurance policies in 2011. [1]

AR Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Arkansas

Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Arkansas

  • Minimum Liability Limits in AR: 25/50/25 [4]
    • 25  Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
    • 50  Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
    • 25  Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
    • Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.

Required Car Insurance Coverage in Arkansas

Required Car Insurance Coverage in Arkansas
  • Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in AR [4]
    • Bodily injury liability coverage
    • Property damage liability coverage
    • Personal injury protection coverage

Car Insurance Verification Laws in Arkansas

  • Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in AR [4]
    • Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest.
    • Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.

Arkansas Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws

Arkansas Car Insurance Facts

Arkansas Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
  • Average Car Insurance Rates in AR
    • Arkansas had the 35th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010. [2]
    • Rates in AR ranked 35th in the nation in 2009. [2]
    • In 2008, AR had the 38th highest rates in the country. [2]
  • Number of Auto Insurance Policies in AR
    • Arkansas ranked 32nd in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 2,130,051. [1]
  • Uninsured Motorist Rate in AR
    • The uninsured motorist rate in AR ranked 12th in the nation in 2009. [3]

Arkansas Distracted Driving Laws

  • Hand-held phone ban? Yes
    • hand-held phone ban in place for drivers 18 or older but younger than 21 and also in school and highway work zones. [7]
  • Texting-while-driving ban? Yes
    • Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [7]
  • Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes
    • Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [7]
  • Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes
    • Ban applies to school bus drivers. [7]
  • Enforcement of laws:
    • Primary enforcement in effect for texting by all drivers and cellphone use by school bus drivers. Secondary enforcement in effect for cellphone use by young drivers, drivers in school and work zones. [7]
    • With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
    • Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.

Arkansas Automotive Laws

  • Safety Belt Laws in AR
    • Safety belt laws have been in place since 1991 and apply to drivers/passengers 15+ years in front seat. [7]
    • Child restraint law in place for 5 years and younger and less than 60 pounds. [7]
  • Motorcycle Helmet Laws in AR
    • Motorcycle helmets required for 20 and younger. [7]
  • Driver's License Renewal Cycle in AR
    • Renewal cycle: 4 years [7]

Arkansas Auto & Driver Facts

Arkansas Automotive Facts

Arkansas Auto & Driver Facts
  • Speed Limits in AR
    • Rural interstates: 70 mph (Trucks: 65 mph) [7]
    • Urban interstates: 55 mph [7]
    • Other roads: 55 mph [7]
  • Motor Fuel Consumption in AR
    • Arkansas cities collectively ranked 30th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011. [9]

Arkansas Licensed Drivers

  • Licensed Drivers in AR [10]
    • Total Drivers: 1,956,091
    • Female: 1,051,052
    • Male: 905,039
    • AR has the 32nd most drivers in the U.S.
  • Minimum Driving Age in AR [5]
    • Arkansas has a minimum driving age of 14 years.

Arkansas Auto Registrations

  • Auto Registrations in AR [8]
    • Registered Cars: 1,021,817
    • Registered Trucks: 1,346,842
    • Registered Motorcycles: 76,301
    • Total Registrations: 2,448,310
    • Rank: Arkansas ranked 31st in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.

Additional information about Arkansas

About Arkansas

Arkansas has a population of approximately 2,915,918, which ranks 32nd in the U.S. among all states. [6]

AR Car Insurance

More about Arkansas auto insurance

For more information about auto insurance in AR, or for additional resources regarding Arkansas car insurance, visit the Arkansas Department of Insurance.

Did you know?

Novice drivers are prohibited from the use of all cell phones in 37 states and the District of Columbia.

References

1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)

2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)

3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)

4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)

5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)

6. ^ United States Census Bureau

7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute

8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information

9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation

10. ^ Federal Highway Administration

Arkansas Cities