Car Insurance in New Jersey
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in New Jersey
Minimum Liability Limits in NJ: 15/30/5 [ 4]
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for one individual injured in an accident
30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
5 Required coverage up to $5,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums. Note: Basic policy (optional) limits are $10,000/$10,000/$5,000. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage not available under the basic policy but uninsured motorist coverage is required under the standard policy.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in New Jersey
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in NJ [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Uninsured motorist coverage Underinsured motorist coverage Personal injury protection coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in New Jersey
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in NJ [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
New Jersey Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
New Jersey Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in NJ
New Jersey had the 1st highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in NJ ranked 2nd in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, NJ had the 3rd highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in NJ
New Jersey ranked 12th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 5,358,929.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in NJ
The uninsured motorist rate in NJ ranked 31st in the nation in 2009.
New Jersey Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to learner's permit and intermediate license holders. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school bus drivers. [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
New Jersey Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in NJ
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1985 and apply to drivers/passengers 7 years and younger and more than 80 pounds; 8+ in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 7 years and younger and less than 80 pounds.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in NJ
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in NJ
Renewal cycle: 4 years
New Jersey Auto & Driver Facts
New Jersey Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in NJ
Rural interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 55 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 55 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in NJ
New Jersey cities collectively ranked 11th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
New Jersey Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in NJ [ 10]
Total Drivers: 5,977,458
NJ has the 12th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in NJ [ 5]
New Jersey has a minimum driving age of 16 years.
New Jersey Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in NJ [ 8]
Registered Cars: 4,416,631
Registered Trucks: 3,172,253
Registered Motorcycles: 330,489
Total Registrations: 7,939,956
Rank: New Jersey ranked 9th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about New Jersey
About New Jersey
New Jersey has a population of approximately 8,791,894, which ranks 11th in the U.S. among all states.
More about New Jersey auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in NJ, or for additional resources regarding
New Jersey car insurance, visit the New Jersey Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under primary laws, an officer can ticket a driver for the offense (such as texting) without another traffic violation occurring.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration