Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Vermont
Minimum Liability Limits in VT: 25/50/10 [ 4]
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Vermont
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in VT [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Uninsured motorist coverage Underinsured motorist coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Vermont
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in VT [ 4]
Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request.
Vermont Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Vermont Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in VT
Vermont had the 39th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in VT ranked 38th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, VT had the 37th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in VT
Vermont ranked 49th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 483,495.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in VT
The uninsured motorist rate in VT ranked 47th in the nation in 2009.
Vermont Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for drivers in work zones. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Vermont Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in VT
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1994 and apply to drivers/passengers 18+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing infant seat; 1 through 7 and more than 20 pounds.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in VT
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in VT
Renewal cycle: 4 years
Vermont Auto & Driver Facts
Vermont Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in VT
Rural interstates: 65 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 55 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 50 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in VT
Vermont cities collectively ranked 50th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Vermont Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in VT [ 10]
Total Drivers: 521,666
VT has the 47th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in VT [ 5]
Vermont has a minimum driving age of 15 years.
Vermont Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in VT [ 8]
Registered Cars: 286,106
Registered Trucks: 286,748
Registered Motorcycles: 30,071
Total Registrations: 605,054
Rank: Vermont ranked 50th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Additional information about Vermont
Vermont has a population of approximately 625,741, which ranks 50th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Vermont auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in VT, or for additional resources regarding
Vermont car insurance, visit the Vermont Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Penalties for driving without required insurance coverage vary widely by location. Fines can reach into the thousands of dollars.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration