Car Insurance LocalCar Insurance Local
Michigan Car Insurance Resources

Michigan Car Insurance

Car Insurance Rates in MI

^ From 2006 to 2010, Michigan cities had the 12th highest auto insurance rates in the nation. [2]

Car Insurance in MI by City

Select a city for local information:


Cars Insured in MI

^ Michigan ranked 10th of all U.S. states in total auto insurance policies in 2011. [1]

MI Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Michigan

Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Michigan

  • Minimum Liability Limits in MI: 20/40/10 [4]
    • 20  Required coverage up to $20,000 for one individual injured in an accident
    • 40  Required coverage up to $40,000 for all persons injured in an accident
    • 10  Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
    • Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.

Required Car Insurance Coverage in Michigan

Required Car Insurance Coverage in Michigan
  • Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in MI [4]
    • Bodily injury liability coverage
    • Property damage liability coverage
    • Personal injury protection coverage

Car Insurance Verification Laws in Michigan

  • Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in MI [4]
    • Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.

Michigan Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws

Michigan Car Insurance Facts

Michigan Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
  • Average Car Insurance Rates in MI
    • Michigan had the 10th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010. [2]
    • Rates in MI ranked 11th in the nation in 2009. [2]
    • In 2008, MI had the 11th highest rates in the country. [2]
  • Number of Auto Insurance Policies in MI
    • Michigan ranked 10th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 6,165,963. [1]
  • Uninsured Motorist Rate in MI
    • The uninsured motorist rate in MI ranked 7th in the nation in 2009. [3]

Michigan Distracted Driving Laws

  • Hand-held phone ban? No
  • Texting-while-driving ban? Yes
    • Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [7]
  • Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes
    • Ban applies to learner's permit and intermediate license holders (level 1 and 2); integrated voice-operated systems excepted. [7]
  • Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes
    • Ban applies to school bus drivers. [7]
  • Enforcement of laws:
    • Primary enforcement in effect. [7]
    • With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
    • Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.

Michigan Automotive Laws

  • Safety Belt Laws in MI
    • Safety belt laws have been in place since 1985 and apply to drivers/passengers 16+ years in front seat. [7]
    • Child restraint law in place for 7 years and younger and less than 57 inches. [7]
  • Motorcycle Helmet Laws in MI
    • Motorcycle helmets required for 20 and younger. [7]
    • All riders younger than 21 years are required to wear helmets, without exception. Those 21 and older may ride without helmets 1) if they carry additional insurance and have passed a motorcycle safety course or 2) if they have had their motorcycle endorsement for at least two years. [7]
  • Driver's License Renewal Cycle in MI
    • Renewal cycle: 4 years [7]

Michigan Auto & Driver Facts

Michigan Automotive Facts

Michigan Auto & Driver Facts
  • Speed Limits in MI
    • Rural interstates: 70 mph (Trucks: 60 mph) [7]
    • Urban interstates: 65 mph [7]
    • Other roads: 55 mph [7]
  • Motor Fuel Consumption in MI
    • Michigan cities collectively ranked 10th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011. [9]

Michigan Licensed Drivers

  • Licensed Drivers in MI [10]
    • Total Drivers: 7,059,509
    • Female: 3,613,751
    • Male: 3,445,758
    • MI has the 8th most drivers in the U.S.
  • Minimum Driving Age in MI [5]
    • Michigan has a minimum driving age of 14 years, 9 months.

Michigan Auto Registrations

  • Auto Registrations in MI [8]
    • Registered Cars: 4,742,808
    • Registered Trucks: 4,111,481
    • Registered Motorcycles: 308,349
    • Total Registrations: 9,182,847
    • Rank: Michigan ranked 8th in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.

Additional information about Michigan

About Michigan

Michigan has a population of approximately 9,883,640, which ranks 9th in the U.S. among all states. [6]

MI Car Insurance

More about Michigan auto insurance

For more information about auto insurance in MI, or for additional resources regarding Michigan car insurance, visit the Michigan Department of Insurance.

Did you know?

Only three states (Arizona, Montana, and South Carolina) do not have any ban in place on texting while driving.


1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)

2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)

3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)

4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)

5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)

6. ^ United States Census Bureau

7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute

8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information

9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation

10. ^ Federal Highway Administration

Michigan Cities